Open Knowledge

Pollutant Emissions 45% open


What data is expected?

Aggregate data about the emission of air pollutants especially those potentially harmful to human health (although it is not a requirement to include information on greenhouse gas emissions). Aggregate means national-level or available for at least three major cities. In order to satisfy the minimum requirements for this category, data must be available for the following pollutants and meet the following minimum criteria:

  • Particulate matter (PM) Levels
  • Sulphur oxides (SOx)
  • Nitrogen oxides (NOx)
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
  • Carbon monoxide (CO)
  • Updated on at least once a week.
  • Measured either at a national level by regions or at leasts in 3 big cities.

What data is available

  •   Openly licensed? Unsure (No URL given)
  •   Is the data available for free? Yes
  •   Is the data machine readable? Unsure (n/a)
  •   Available in bulk? Unsure
  •   Is the data provided on a timely and up to date basis? Yes
  •   Publicly available? Yes
  •   Is data in digital form? Yes
  •   Is the data available online? Yes (Here)
  •   Does the data exist? Yes


It seems that all the data is collected monthly but not released by the government. Although a web site of the European Commission publishes data for many cities in France

The previously registered dataset from Ministère de l'Environnement only provides yearly aggregates at a national level by regions of the required air pollutants emissions. The dataset stopped in 2009 and no update has been published since. Moreover, whereas the dataset requires regular measures, the data offers historical mean annual data. We think this is sufficiently old and unprecise to not be considered here.

Some cities provide data on the national OpenData platform, for example in Nantes, Lyon or Saint-Malo but it is also updated yearly.

In other cities such as Paris, this is closed data

Revision: completed the comment with more links and infos

Reviewer comments

Approving comments with more details.



  • Mor Rubinstein


  • Regards Citoyens